Sunday, 29 June 2014

80 Days To Go

Its time.

For a relatively small island, Great Britain ruled over a 3rd of the countries in the world over the past few hundred years, earning the saying 'the empire on which the sun never sets', due to the sun shining over one of its territories at any given time.
The British Empire started forming before the Act of the Union 1707, in the late 15th century, when Scotland and England were separate kingdoms. During the 16th - late 18th centuries, the exploration and take over of new lands in the Americas, Africa, Australasia and Asia grew, wars were fought, colonies were formed and trade routes were established. The empire was the largest in history.

In 1776, the 13 American colonies joined together to become the United States of America, and fought against the British, in what was to become known as the American War of Independence (1775-1783). Canada took control of their own matters in 1867 (although it wasn't until the Canada Act of 1982, when the last remaining ties to the UK Parliament were finally and permanently cut). Throughout the 20th century, a further 58 countries gained independence from the UK :

*Australia 1901
*New Zealand 1901
*South Africa 1910
Afghanistan 1919
Ireland 1921 (by treaty)
Egypt 1922
Iraq 1932 (from League of Nations mandate under British administration)
*India 1947
*Pakistan 1947
Burma 1948
Isreal 1948 (from League of Nations mandate under British administration)
Jordan 1948 (from League of Nations mandate under British administration)
*Sri Lanka 1948
Sudan 1956
*Ghana 1957
*Malaysia 1957
*Cyprus 1960
*Nigeria 1960
Somalia 1960
Kuwait 1961
*Sierra Leone 1961
*Uganda 1962
*Jamaica 1962
*Trinidad and Tobago 1962
*Kenya 1963
*Tanzania 1963
*Malawi 1964
*Malta 1964
*Zambia 1964
Gambia 1965
*Maldives 1965
*Barbados 1966
*Botswana 1966
*Guyana 1966
*Lesotho 1966
Yemen 1967
*Mauritius 1968
*Swaziland 1968
*Fiji 1970
*Tonga 1970
Bahrain 1971
Quatar 1971
United Arab Emirates 1971
*Bahamas 1973
*Grenada 1974
*Seychelles 1976
*Dominica 1978
*Solomon islands 1978
*Tuvalu 1978
*Kiribati 1979
*Saint Lucia 1979
*Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 1979
*Vanuata 1980
Zimbabwe 1980
*Antigua and Barbuda 1981
*Belize 1981
*Saint Kitts and Nevis 1983
*Brunei 1984

Of the above list, *43 joined the Common wealth states, with 16 of them having the monarch of the UK remaining as their head of state. The Gambia, Ireland and Zimbabwe are former members.

There are now no countries in the world ruled by the UK, they are all independent, although some smaller British Territories, such as The British Virgin Islands, Gibralta, Bermuda, etc, which rely upon the UK government for defence or foreign affairs.  That is, with the exception of the UK itself, made up of 4 countries, ruled by the elite (unelected, from Scotland) government and House of Lords in London.  Even the Isle of Man is independent from the UK (despite using the pound...but that is another post for another day)

The above information is purely based upon the UK governance and rule. Many many more countries have sought and gained their independence from other ruling nations too.

2014 is OUR time. Its Scotland's time to break free for home rule.